Most of you who use Dropbox have no doubt received an email regarding the changes that they will be making but for those of you who may have missed the memo, here is the run down of the upcoming changes.
Dropbox has announced that as of March 15 2017, Dropbox basic (free) users Public folders will be made private. The files stored here won’t be deleted, however any image and file links that people have posted will be deactivated and will be unavailable to others. This includes images shared on forums and other such places. Below is the official word from the Dropbox team.
“Dropbox accounts created after October 4, 2012 won’t have a Public folder. If you’d like to quickly share files you can use a shared link. Shared links work even if the person you’re sharing with doesn’t have a Dropbox account.
Dropbox Basic (free) users
As of March 15, 2017 the Public folder in your Dropbox account has been converted into a standard folder. By default this folder is private to your account. This transition will occur automatically.
Here’s what you need to know:
All of the files in your Public folder will remain safe, but public links to those files will stop working
If someone visits a link to a file in your Public folder, they’ll see an error page
To see a list of your public links, visit the Public folder—any file in this folder will have previously had a public link associated with it
Dropbox can’t convert existing public links into Dropbox shared links
If you’d like to re-share any of the files in your Public folder, please use a shared folder or shared link
Using the public folder to render HTML content
As of October 3, 2016 Dropbox Basic (free) users can no longer use public links to render HTML content in a web browser. If you’re a Basic user, and you created a website that directly displays HTML content from your Dropbox account, it will no longer render in the browser. The HTML content itself remains safe in Dropbox, and you can share it using any of our other sharing methods.
Effective September 1, 2017, Dropbox Pro, Plus, and Business users will no longer be able to render HTML content, and the Public folder and its sharing functionality will be disabled. Until that date, Dropbox Pro, Plus, and Business users can continue to use public links to render HTML content.”
More info can be found at https://www.dropbox.com/help/16